Wildflower Corridor

If you follow this blog you know my continuous frustration with the amount of river rock used in landscaping this property. My husband and I have removed tons of it and replaced it with dirt. I feel like I’ve been on a prison gang as much rock as I’ve dug (sometime 8 inches deep!). But it’s pretty rewarding to reclaim ground and create new garden areas.

Here’s an example. We have a corridor on the south side of our house that was just river rock and aggregate slabs. The rocks were covered with very stubborn chickweed, too. Granted, there were some nice large hostas and sun drops planted right next to the garage. That was a great starting place.

So the first year, I dug some holes in the rock border and planted rudbeckia. You can see it here. I was out to make a sunflower allee.

garden 3

That should have worked, but did I mention the rabbits? They ate every rudbeckia to the ground that year and nothing can back. So I took it further the next year and dug up a foot of the rock border and planted native wildflower seedlings. That worked pretty well for a year, but last winter was very hard and I lost several.

So this year, I dug up a full 2 feet of the border, transplanted some taller wildflowers from other areas on the outside and sowed  wildflower seed mix on the inside. I also threw some daisy seed heads along the garage wall and transplanted some tall ornamental grass there. (The hostas look terrible this year because of “the storm”–I had to cut at least half of their leaves away to mitigate the damage.)

Here’s how it looks now. So far, I’m pleased, the white flowers in the seed mix are just beginning to bloom. There will be many more colors in the next couple of weeks. And, glory be,  you can see that I’ve also made progress defeating the chickweed.

IMG_7895

Flowers are a lot like paint–they can improve almost anything!

2 thoughts on “Wildflower Corridor

  1. Gayle I so understand your frustration with those dear sweet fluffy bunnies. The first time I planted a vegetable garden everything came up lovely and green and looking like something out of a gardening catalogue. For one brief day. Next morning there was nothing left. Bunnies had struck. Now we have a rabbit proof fence. It is the same in my flower garden. It is 90% perennials that the rabbits don’t like … day lilies, lavender, fox glove etc. I did try fencing my flowers but after tripping over the fence I thought discretion was the better part of going to emergency with a broken wrist … so no fence. I love your romantic floral path! XXOO Virginia

Leave a Reply

