Art in Bloom

We woke up here–not without warning–to a sugar-snow dusting and very cold temps. But a friend and I were warmed and refreshed by the fantastic color of Art in Bloom, an annual exhibition at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts that features floral exhibits inspired by paintings and sculptures. I think half of the Twin Cities was there today–it only lasts three days. But the place is so huge you never felt crowded. The arrangements ran the gamut from very representational to the wildly interpretive (my faves). Here are just a few of the scores of arrangements.

IMG_0773

IMG_0775

IMG_0777

IMG_0776

IMG_0779IMG_0778IMG_0784IMG_0793IMG_0795IMG_0802

I’m reminded of how much I love this place and how much beauty and history is housed there.  Much of the time, my friend (who’s an artist) and I were so absorbed by certain paintings (not the ones with floral arrangements) we nearly missed the flowers altogether.

Save

Leave a Reply

