Autumn Fades

I’m not complaining. It’s been a long fall with great color. Everything in the garden is cut back and tucked away, except the things that continue to bloom. This readying the yard for winter is a month-long ritual here–getting all the furniture and ornaments stored, cutting back scores of plants, planting bulbs, draining hoses. It prepares you psychologically for cocooning over the next 5 months.

Again this year, I’ve been seed-saving–wildflowers, zinnias, snapdragons, daisies, columbine, sweet William, purple coneflowers, forget-me-nots, marigolds, etc. I had great luck with the seeds I saved last year, so high hopes. Here’s my workbench filled with seed containers,

img_6023

And more zinnia heads drying in the wheelbarrow.

img_6021

The final gasp of brilliance in our yard each year–after the trees have shed–are our burning bushes. The one that gets the most sun has exploded this week.

img_6025

Yesterday it was over 70 degrees here, but today it’s iconic Midwest late October–50 degrees, steel grey, and light rain. This is how I remember Halloween when I was growing up–my costumes always ended up wet. But the bag of treats was worth it.

Leave a Reply

