Long time coming

This summer slipped through my fingers. I can’t believe it’s been so long since I last posted.

The yellow tinge of the trees and shorter days are making feel a little hurried–like I have a million tasks to complete before autumn ends. I guess that’s a byproduct of living in a place with such harsh winters.

On top of that, we’re in the process of making a decision about a new exterior color before we have our house painted. And I’m redoing the lakeshore, reducing the water plants and creating a rock border with a bit more lawn. A BIG job that certainly won’t get done before late next spring. But the good news is that many gardening projects were completed this year and the flowers have been exceptional. I’ve bought tons of seeds for next year on sale!

I’ve also been having fun creating more Christmas ornaments for the Women’s Art Festival in early December. Here are just a few of them.

Vintage spool trees

IMG_5928

And an all white variation

IMG_5935

Little Norwegian and Swedish house gift boxes (You untie the string and the roof opens)

IMG_5959

Now I have to turn my attention to designing the display booth. More on that in a bit!

Hope your summer has been relaxed and filled with lovely memories…

4 thoughts on “Long time coming

  1. It’s so good to hear from you and know that all is well. Both versions of the spool trees are fabulous, as are the Norwegian and Swedish house gift boxes. Your creativeness awes me. Wishing you a blessed autumn and the completion of all your projects.

  2. Keep those cooking tips and recipes coming, Virginia! My mother was a committed vegetable canner but I blithely let all her canning equipment be sold at her house sale, which I now regret. I’m so happy to see young women get excited about canning again! I still remember the taste of those canned tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

