Gone

There was this kid from Minneapolis, came from nothing special. Today he died and google turned purple. Musicians and celebrities world-wide shared their shock and grief. Nearly 3 million tweets about him in the half-hour after his death was announced. It’s incredible how that kid and his music touched so many lives.

prince

I remember seeing him on TV for the first time, then the movie Purple Rain and I was gone, just gone. It was so cool to be living in his town. I even saw him and his wife at my dentist one day. How small and fragile he was, like a waif really.

The stories are swirling now, but its his music and his fearlessness that will stay with us. Janis Joplin, David Bowie, Freddie Mercury–raw pioneers, dazzling dreamers, one of a kind, utterly true to themselves. You don’t have to love everything they did or every song they sang to recognize how extraordinary they were.

I guess I’m surprised at how sad I am. This place has a hole in it now, a little less life and joy than before. I think of the music that has been part of my life over the years and feel like I owe all those creators something. Little Red Corvette, Raspberry Beret, When Doves Cry, Manic Monday, Nothing Compares 2U, Party Like It’s 1999. Thank you, Prince.

 

 

One thought on “Gone

  1. Nice tribute, Gayle. I’m afraid his magic passed me by and I’ve been quite amazed at the outpourings. Mind you, I’m extremely sad about the loss of our all-round-delightful Victoria Wood, writer, actress, comedian and brilliant talent – far too young at 62 from cancer.

Leave a Reply

