Rhubarb

IMG_4164

I love rhubarb but I haven’t made anything with it for a few years–just too much refined sugar. So when a friend gave some to me last week I found a sugar-less recipe for rhubarb sauce that’s out-of-this-world good! It uses the natural sweetness of berries and honey. I’m making my third batch tomorrow. We’ve had it with Greek yogurt and vanilla ice cream (okay, that does have sugar in it), but it would also be great with angel food cake. Sometimes I just eat it with a spoon right out of the jar. I’m freezing my next batch so we can enjoy it this winter.

  • 2 cups chopped rhubarb
  • 3/4 c. strawberries
  • 3/4 c. raspberries
  • 1/4 c water
  • 3 tbs plus 1 tsp of honey

Put it all in a saucepan, bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer (stir often) for 20 minutes. Cool and refrigerate or freeze. Yum!

One thought on “Rhubarb

  1. When all the planets align .. when strawberries and raspberries droop heavy on their stems THEN AND ONLYH THEN is the time of the rhubarb. Beautifully sweetened with natural sugars and just a smidge of honey. Brilliant Gayle

Leave a Reply

