House Tour

Well, after a year here I’m nearly done with my budget-conscious furnishing/decorating. So I thought I’d take you on a little tour. Today, I’ll cover the lower level.

Let’s start at the front entry hall.

2013-10-29 22.48.48

I had the bench made for $25 (Craig’s List). The utility carpeting is from a DYI store. The shelf/coat rack was made from DYI store wood pieces and antique hooks I had on hand. Baskets were $1 at the thrift store. I stained the wood to match the pine walls.

Now we go down several steps to the lower level, where our wine station greets you. Basket carried home from Denmark, where I use it to go to the bread shop every morning. Demijohns (not one over $5) and rustic copper pot from thrift stores.

2014-10-28 00.42.01

This window looks out on the lower porch, which is now dubbed the Provence Room, for obvious reasons.

2014-10-28 00.39.01

Cushion covers and valances compliments of moi. Chaise from Craig’s List then painted. Small table (white until I used wood stain on it), chairs (I painted them), magazine basket, lavender plants, Santon, wrought iron/wicker table, candlestick, colander, and Provencal table runners/napkins all from thrift stores. Enamelware from past garage sales. Rooster prints in dollar store frames. You can see I’ve moved my Amaryllis and herb box in for the winter. The ceramic rooster is from TJ Maxx. Outdoor chair cushions are stored in the wicker chest.

2014-10-28 00.39.59

From this porch, you walk through sliding glass doors into the lower level living area, which the previous owners used as a photo studio. The leather settee, bench, French chair, and drum table are all from Craigs List. The glass lamp, verdure needlepoint cushions, lily candlesticks, globes, silverplate picture frames,and hunt prints are from thrift stores. Old books, and some other knick-knacks are from estate sales. Again, I made the cushion covers. The antique paisley, and the Indonesian and Indian tables were brought home from England many years ago. The other furniture came from our past house.

2014-10-28 00.40.49

2014-10-28 00.41.01

2014-10-28 00.41.15

2014-10-28 00.41.49

2014-10-28 00.44.20

2014-10-28 00.43.45

Next time, we’ll tour the upper level!

2 thoughts on “House Tour

Leave a Reply

