Butterfly dome

When I was about 10, mom took me to visit a great aunt. She had a big dark living room with no less than four large Victorian cloches housing stuffed birds and butterflies on branches. I was mesmerized, and since that day I’ve wanted one. So, when I looked at one of my unused cloches and wondered what to do with it–I harked back to that memory.

First I printed out two sets (one horizontally flipped) of varieties of blue butterflies from The Graphics Fairy and other sources.. I modpodged the sides together so the butterfly looked the same from both sides, and trimmed any extra white paper showing off of each side. I modpodged the two sides so the colors would pop, and when they were dry bent them into shape.

2014-08-24 02.41.04

Meanwhile, I sawed off the top of a spare styrofoam sphere I had on hand, stuck two branches in it that I picked up from our yard (judging the height and width of the cloche), and glued on Reindeer moss.

2014-08-24 02.59.34

Then I positioned the butterflies on the branches and adhered them with Tacky glue. That’s it. So simple, and I love the effect! The online butterfly and moth images are so beautiful. Soon I’m creating a moth collectors’ box, so stay tuned.

2014-08-24 06.45.40Featured on Knick of Time, 2014 best vintage roundup.

3 thoughts on “Butterfly dome

  1. Fabulous! I would kill for one of these butterfly creations. It looks like you slipped into the past and brought back this incredibly unique creation. Beautiful beautiful my dear friend Gayle.

  2. Pingback: DIY Butterfly Dome - Reader Feature - The Graphics Fairy

Leave a Reply

