Roosters

I’m getting pretty good at compromise–and often, it works out for the best. Having looked at ceramic roosters for the past week–I’ve found that the ones I really like are very pricey and the ones I can afford aren’t high quality–so I’m incorporating roosters into the Provence room in another way–art.

2014-08-11 05.07.27

A while back I ran across these old illustrations from a poultry catalog of yore–they’re very beautiful, the illustrations are crisp, and they are public domain. (They’re on my Printables–Fauna pinterest board.) I printed four of my favorites, mounted them on yellow-orange mat board (most expensive part of this project at $12), and put them in dollar store frames I’d sprayed expresso brown. Not a bad effect for $4 a piece, eh?

2014-08-11 05.08.282014-08-11 05.08.18

On another front, I found a fantastic chesterfield brown leather settee on Craig’s list and snapped it up for the lower level living room, which is the only room yet to be furnished. The piece is exactly what I’ve been looking for because a full-size chesterfield sofa would never fit through the sliding glass door. Patience is rewarded! When I wrap up the little Provence room, that’s where I’m turning my attention next. But before that happens–yet another cushion cover to make and maybe even some window valances, another piece of art, and a rug! Ugh…

Leave a Reply

