Gustavian shelf styling

I think I’m done for the moment with arranging the shelves of the bookcase in the “Gustavian” bedroom. Here’s a glimpse.

2014-01-20 00.20.56

The pewter is all thrifted, as are the bird bookends, the paperbacks I made the antiqued book sets from, the wooden box I painted and did transfers on, all the little glass jars, the vintage buttons, and the white wooden rosary. I made the frozen charlottes, and collected the antique lace, seashells, and eggs. I got the three little vintage sheep and cow at an estate sale for 50 cents each.

2014-02-09 23.43.16

On this side of the bookcase, the white ware is all thrifted, as are the box I painted and did transfers on, the photo frame (I painted it), the pewter candleholder, the wooden horses I painted and antiqued, the three antique bottles that I labeled, the little chair I painted and antiqued, the bird’s next and the two small ceramic birds in it.

I’m sure this scene will change with time (and thrifting). BTW–this bookcase is a very sturdy past Ikea piece  I picked up on Criag’s list for little of nothing, in perfect condition. All I had to do was paint the sage green beadboard back a light grey.

2 thoughts on “Gustavian shelf styling

  1. Gayle, you are a clever, clever darling girl after my own heart. I love what you do with your beautiful thrift shop finds. Thrift shopping is the most glorious of retail therapy. You never break the bank and come home with such marvelous objects of desire … or you make them so. Bravo. Virginia

Leave a Reply

