Shelves and soup

I’m starting to make progress on the lower level. It’s mostly still a storage locker and a sewing center, but I do have one end of the room done. As you can see the shelves make a great home for my old books and various other objects, including thrifted French cider bottles and mustard jar, and the two small globes. I love arranging shelves! What I’m looking for now is a chesterfield leather couch to give the room a kind of library atmosphere.

2013-12-04 00.09.31Here’s the pair of shelves so far.

2013-12-04 00.08.41

2013-12-04 00.08.55

And I’ve lined up some of my paper theaters on the mantel.

2013-12-04 00.09.04

My next Gustavian project is pulling together 9 botanical prints for the bedroom wall.

But right now I’m in the middle of making Minestrone soup. Two days ago our long autumn ended with a cruel 8″ of snow in one day, and last night it was -30!!!! When winter comes, I become obsessed with cooking–especially soup making. Here’s my imprecise 2-step Minestrone soup recipe–but it comes out great every time.

1. Saute for 10-12 minutes in ample olive oil–1 med onion and/or leek chopped, 2 garlic cloves minced, two big carrots and 2 stalks of celery chopped

2. Add two cans of beef broth, a can of great northern white beans (cannellini beans), half package of frozen spinach (do not thaw), a can of diced tomatoes (with chilis if possible, Muir Glen is what I use), pinch of sage, 1/2 tsp. parsley, 1/2 tsp. basil, and pepper (I don’t add salt). Bring to boil and them simmer for 40-50 minutes. Add some freshly grated Parmesan cheese just before serving. It really hits the spot on a cold evening!

One thought on “Shelves and soup

  1. We are on the same page when the cold creeps into our bones. I remember those bitter cold days when we lived on the prairies. We are experiencing a cold (for us) minus 7. Living so close to the river the ocean it seems very cold. Soup is definitely the order of the day. Keep Warm. XX Virginia

Leave a Reply

