Nickel nightstands

Part of the big bedroom challenge was finding decent nightstands (a hot item on Craig’s list I found out) that were sturdy and had drawers for storage and enough surface to set a lamp, books, etc. on top. After nearly a month looking, I scored two mahoghony stained ones. I wish I could have found more graceful ones with curved legs, but they never turned up.

2013-10-05 16.42.45

This is what they looked like when I bought them (2 for $50–yahoo). I cleaned them up and removed the hardware, primed them with grey spray primer then sprayed on a few coats of Rustoleum’s Satin Nickel. I wanted a very subtle metallic sheen but not a mirror like surface. It worked perfectly. I then sprayed the hardware with Antique Nickel, and voila–here is one after the transformation.

2013-10-18 12.37.30

They’re on either side of our bed now, tricked out with dark grey Ikea adjustable lamps for reading in bed, and some of the lavender harvest from this year. Ah, what can’t you do with paint???

One thought on “Nickel nightstands

  1. Love what you did with your night tables. This is my kind of shopping and redecorating. I use a top quality gray primer from Benjamin Moore for my make-overs. It works miracles with very little prep. Then I give the furniture a wax finish with Min Wax. I love the idea of the satin nickel finish. I am trying it on my next make over. XX V.

Leave a Reply

