Night at the opera

I went with my lovely friend and fellow opera buff to the Minnesota Opera’s Turandot last night, what a stunning performance. I’ve seen this opera maybe 10 times, but this staging was the best ever. An awe inspiring set and costumes (shared by four opera companies across the country–the only way they can afford such lavish productions). All the singing was great, but Liu was a standout. A packed house, which was so nice to see. This ends the season, but first on the docket this fall is Manon Lescaut…hurrah! More Puccini…

opera 009

2 thoughts on “Night at the opera

  1. How magical. The drama and the music, the costumes – opera has it all . My favorite opera is Gounod’s Faust. One Christmas my husband gave me the CD complete with libretto and a pair of vintage French mother of pearl opera glasses. Let the music begin. Virginia

    • That husband of yours sounds like a gem. I’ve coveted those lovely French opera glasses–I know just which ones you’re talking about. I’ve not seen Gounod’s Faust yet–maybe I can find a performance on DVD at the library.

Leave a Reply

