Vintage saintly relics–DIY

Lately, I’ve been very inspired by antique French and Italian reliquaries and religious images of saints. It all came together when I found two little domed glass frames at a thrift store (photos of them, bright gold brass, are here) at a thrift store. I bronzed and patinaed the frames, then got to work. They’re about 6″ high.

The St. Rita homage is on the left—she’s the saint of impossible dreams! The one on the right is dedicated to the three saints of artists, writers, and musicians.

relics 001

I absolutely loved making these! I’ve already found another slightly smaller frame of the same style and am going to buy these whenever I run across them at thrift stores. The domed glass is perfect for accommodating all the little three-dimensional items in the homage. I already have plans for several more! These would make great little gifts for friends…

I’ve made more of these here and here.

This project was featured on Knick of Time.

5 thoughts on “Vintage saintly relics–DIY

  1. Pingback: Five more popular posts | Gustav and Gayle

Leave a Reply

