More faux vintage books

I keep experimenting with recycling books, making them look antique or at least vintage so they can be used in decorating. Here’s my latest batch.

new books 003

new books 004

These are four old readers digest books I picked up at a thrift store. I liked them because they had great vintage patterns on the front and back covers, so all I needed to do was produce new spines for them. Plus the top edges of the pages are gilded!

I printed out some antique spines to measure and decoupaged them on–after I’d antiqued the front and back covers a little around the edges. Then I painted thin gold lines on the spines with some liquid gilt that I had on hand, which really adds to the look. I think they’d fit right in with my genuine old books, some of which you can see in the background. I might even antique some matching ribbon and tie them in a bundle. A fun project!

One thought on “More faux vintage books

Leave a Reply

