Secret thrift store sale!

A kind friend let me know about an unadvertised thrift store half-price event this morning until noon. Braving the absolutely horrendous driving conditions after our big snow storm last weekend, I found some very cool things, some of which were nature inspired–a big nest and a small nest, a batch of vintage decorative birds, and a sweet garland of acorns.

eiffel 008

But the real thrill was a metal Eiffel tower clock in perfect condition (1 1/2′ high) for $1.50!!!! I’ve already removed the clock and am ready to give it an old world white gesso treatment. I’ve been wanting one of these to use in my jewelry display at shows. I also paid $15 for an ornate three-tier metal table with a wonderful patina. I’m not doing a thing to it, except putting my new amaryllis on it. And the little filigree candle holder next to the Eiffel tower is destined to become the cushion for my French bridal crown.

eiffel 001

That’s not all! I found a Portuguese  wall piece (I collect these) for $2; a couple of silver plated photo frames; three beautiful lavender glittered pinecones; a very detailed, handpainted metal dish (from Middle East or India?); four pretty berry bobeches; and a big Ukranian handpainted egg. Not bad, eh?  Alas, no more thrifting until the usual 50% off day on New Years Day.

eiffel 004

Leave a Reply

