Saint on a stone

Well, I finally got around to finishing this last week. It started out as an ugly tan wall ornament that had a map decoupaged on the flat part. A thrift store find, of course. I’ve been wanting to do something French with it, so I soaked off the map, primed the whole thing, then did a wipe and remove treatment with white, black, and grey gesso to get an aged stone effect. I sprayed that with fixative, then–using the gel medium transfer method (a favorite of mine) I transferred a laser image that I’d printed on grey paper onto the surface. I really like the result!

Leave a Reply

