Old world finish on lantern

I got this large ornate lantern with curved glass sides at Hobby Lobby with a 40% off coupon. It was a dark gold brass I didn’t really  like, so I gave it an old world finish by first removing the glass then spraying it with a med. grey spray paint meant for wrought iron (it has a little tooth to it). Then I dry brushed it with white gesso, rubbed some off, and gave it a final spray coat of matte sealer. It’s now ready to hold one of the Madonna figurines I bought this summer, and a small candle. (This is about 2′ tall.) I think it would also be a great garden addition next summer.

PS: Monday is 50% off day at local thrift stores…so look for a photo of my finds next week! Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

