All framed up

Sadly, I never get tired of recreating frames…and I have a box of them in the garage to prove it. They nearly always turn out just great—nomatter what I do to them.

This is a dark red/gold 75 cent thrift shop find (it’s hard to resist a frilly ornate frame like this on 25% off day) that I gessoed right on top it. That’s an iffy thing to do with stained wood because you never know whether the stain will bleed through the gesso–but this one worked fine. I didn’t want to prime it because I wanted to leave some of the dark bits showing for added character. Once it was dry, I sponged some creme acrylic paint over it so it would look a little more dimensional. I think I’m keeping this one!

Leave a Reply

