Gustavian mirror sconces

I kept this photo of a pair of Gustavian mirror sconces on my Pinterest board, but I didn’t really think I’d run across them a a thrift store. Although I’m starting to believe that if you frequent these places enough, you can find almost anything.

Source

Well, I did run across a pair very similar to these–gilded wood. I’m not into gold much anymore so I thought I would make them a little more subtle. After I masked the mirrors, I spray primed them, then hand painted them with Benjamin Moore’s wonderful light lilac grey–Essex Gray. Then I applied a glaze coat of grey wash to age them a little, and gave them a final spray of satin sealer. The very next week I ran across the beautiful light grey candles shown with them at a garage sale–6 for 25 cents! I’m liking the way they turned out.

Leave a Reply

